Mary J Blidge, Sam L Jackson Scheduled for Star Studded 53rd Annual NAACP Image Awards


Nine-time Grammy Award-winning singer Mary J Blige didn’t miss a note during her Super Bowl Halftime Performance, soon she’ll be headed to this year’s 53rd NAACP Image Awards for another spectacular performance.

The two-time Academy Award-nominated actress and producer will take the stage to perform at this year’s show. 

The “53rd NAACP Image Awards,” hosted by seven-time NAACP Image Awards winner Anthony Anderson, airs Saturday, February 26 at 8:00 PM ET/PT on BET.

Presenters for the LIVE show include Issa Rae, Kerry Washington, LL Cool J, Michael Strahan, Morgan Freeman, Paula Patton, Questlove, Simu Liu, Tiffany Haddish, Zendaya, NAACP President Derrick Johnson, and NAACP Board Chairman Leon W. Russell.

As previously announced, actor Samuel L. Jackson will be presented with the NAACP Chairman’s Award and Nikole Hannah-Jones, the Pulitzer Prize-winning creator of the 1619 Project, will be presented with the Social Justice Impact Award.

The virtual show will be hosted nightly by actor and comedian Affion Crockett and presenters include Aida Rodriquez, Asiahn Bryant, Clint Coley, Cory Hardrict, Courtney Nichole, Demetrius Shipp Jr., Derrick Johnson, Karen Boykin-Towns, Khleo Thomas, Lauren Wesley Wilson, Leon W. Russell, Lori Harvey, Luke Lawal, Jr., Marcel Spears, Matt Cedeno, Melissa L. Williams, Wendy Raquel Robinson, and Wisdom Cole.

Members of the Mexican American Legislative Caucus, Texas House Democratic Caucus, and Texas Legislative Black Caucus will receive the Roy Wilkins Civil Rights Award. 

This year’s award is presented to those who individually and collectively exemplify the spirit of Roy Wilkins, who led the NAACP during the pivotal years of the modern civil rights movement, and embrace the organization’s work fighting for justice, protecting voting rights and encouraging full participation in the political process.  Past recipients include United Farm Workers President Cesar Chavez, Justice Thurgood Marshall and Reverend Jesse L. Jackson.

As previously announced, the Activist of the Year award will be presented to Scot X. Esdaile, President of the Connecticut State Conference of NAACP Branches and a member of the NAACP National Board of Directors, and Youth Activist of the Year will be presented to Channing Hill, NAACP Chapter President of Howard University. 

The “53rd NAACP Image Awards” are presented by Wells Fargo and sponsored by AT&T, Google, T-Mobile, Bank of America, General Mills, FedEx, and Airbnb. @NAACPImageAwards.

Author: Jackson Roberts

Just a Good Old Man Who Loves His Dogs l

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *